soso & Hermitofthewoods – Vinyl Package Special!

soso is an unorthodox hip hop artist best known for songs that explore family and social histories, personal experience, and place. His latest album is a culmination of the creative strides he has made over the past decade. The writing is more wordy than previous efforts and is laced with idioms, double negatives, and nuance. There are moments of off-kilter crooning. It’s a bit obtuse, but certainly sincere.

Land of the Lotus Eaters lives in a world where reality is obscured by fantasy and everything is thrown into question. It is about televised talent competitions getting more votes than the people who rule over us. It is about intelligence being synonymous with arrogance and mediocrity being celebrated at every turn. It is about celebrity having more value than integrity. It is about breaking free. It is about choosing to do better. It is about hope and possibility. It is about all of us.

Label: Endemik Music


soso – Not for Nothing – Track List

1. The wait | 2. Things started out so pretty | 3. Pretty as a picture | 4. The rain barrel | 5. If I ever knew you, I don’t know you now | 6. Choke | 7. The extermination of a raccoon, first part (Revelation) | 8. The extermination of a raccoon, second part (Epiphany) | 9. The blushing bride | 10. Not for nothing | 11. A map of all the constellations I can see from my kitchen window

Hermitofthewoods – Land of the Lotus Eaters – Track List

1. Once Upon a Time | 2. Last Call | 3. 10,000 B.C. | 4. Give Us Time | 5. Shibboleth | 6. Break the Chains | 7. Alive Under the Sun | 8. State of the Union (featuring EMC) | 9. Mic Check (Mic Check) | 10. The Light of a Thousand Year-Old Explosion